Sint Maarten Explained

For the island of St. Martin on the whole, see Saint Martin, for the French side, see Saint Martin (France) and for other uses, see Saint Martin (disambiguation).

Native Name:Eilandgebied St. Maarten
Conventional Long Name:Island area of Sint Maarten
Common Name:Sint Maarten
Image Map2:Saint martin map.PNG
National Motto:Semper pro grediens (Latin)
National Anthem:O Sweet Saint Martin's Land
Official Languages:Dutch, English, Papiamento
Largest City:Philipsburg
Government Type:See Politics of the Netherlands Antilles
Leader Title1:Administrator
Leader Name1:Franklyn Richards
Area Rank:_
Area Magnitude:1 E7
Area Km2:21.07
Area Sq Mi:13.1
Percent Water:Negligible
Population Estimate:35,000
Population Estimate Rank:_
Population Estimate Year:2006
Population Census:33,119
Population Census Year:2004
Population Density Km2:974
Population Density Sq Mi:?
Population Density Rank:_
Gdp Ppp:$ 400 million
Gdp Ppp Rank:_
Gdp Ppp Year:2003
Gdp Ppp Per Capita:$ 11,400 (2003 est.)
Gdp Ppp Per Capita Rank:_
Sovereignty Type:constitutional monarchy
Sovereignty Note:part of the Netherlands Antilles
Hdi Rank:n/a
Hdi Year:2003
Hdi Category:unranked>
Currency:Netherlands Antillean guilder
Currency Code:ANG
Utc Offset:-4
Calling Code:599

The island area of Sint Maarten (Dutch; Flemish: Eilandgebied Sint Maarten) is one of five island areas (Eilandgebieden) of the Netherlands Antilles, encompassing the southern half of the island of Saint Martin/Sint Maarten. At the 2001 Netherlands Antilles census, the population of the Eilandgebied was 30,594, for a population density of 900 inhabitants per kmĀ².

Sint Maarten borders the French overseas collectivity of Saint-Martin, which occupies the northern half of the island.

Urban areas

Simpsonbay, Madame Estate, Cul-de-sac, Duch Quarter, Cole Bay, Oyster pond, Reward, Saint-Peters, Ebernezer Estate Pointe-Blanche, Middle Region, Cay hill, Upper Prince's Quarter and Lower Prince's Quarter.

Politics and Government

Sint Maarten is an "island area" (eilandgebied in Dutch), a component of the Netherlands Antilles comparable to a municipality. The Netherlands Antilles are part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands though not in the European Union. Its currency is the Antillean guilder (however, the United States dollar is widely accepted). A planned restructuring of the Netherlands Antilles on December 15, 2008 will see Sint Maarten become a separate country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands (like Aruba and the Netherlands Antilles are now). This dissolution is still planned, but has been postponed to an indefinite future date.[1]

The island area of Sint Maarten is ruled by an island council, an executive council, and an administrator (gezaghebber in Dutch) appointed by the Dutch Crown.

Colleges and Universities

Popular Tourist Destinations

See also

External links


Organizations and schools


News and Opinion

Notes and References

  1. St. Maarten-St. Martin - Consensus, but no date set for new status