List of states with limited recognition explained

||}This list of states with limited recognition gives an overview of contemporary geopolitical entities, that wish to be recognized as sovereign states under the Montevideo Convention, which do not enjoy worldwide diplomatic recognition. The entries listed here have control over their claimed territory and are self-governing with a desire for full independence, or if they lack such control over their territory, are recognized by at least one other recognized nation.

See list of historical unrecognized countries for similar entities, that have existed in the past. See list of governments in exile for unrecognized governments without control over the territory claimed.

There are 192 United Nations (UN) member states. The Holy See is generally recognized as sovereign in international law, but is not a full member of the United Nations.[1]

Present geopolitical entities by level of recognition

No recognition by any state

NameDisputed sinceUN recognitionFurther informationReferences
1991Nagorno-Karabakh is not independent from Azerbaijan, according to the UN.Foreign relations of Nagorno-Karabakh
1991Somaliland is not independent from Somalia, according to the UN.Foreign relations of Somaliland

Recognized by at least one UN member

NameDisputed sinceUN RecognitionFurther informationReferences
1992According to the UN, Abkhazia is not independent from Georgia. Its sovereignty is recognized by Russia, Nicaragua; two non-UN member states, South Ossetia and Transnistria;[3] and the Hamas government in Gaza.[4] Foreign relations of Abkhazia, International recognition of Abkhazia and South Ossetia[5] [6]
2008According to the UN, Kosovo is not independent from Serbia. Its sovereignty is recognized by UN members and one former UN member, Republic of China (Taiwan). According to United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244, Kosovo is de jure part of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, to which Serbia is the successor state.Foreign relations of Kosovo, International reaction to the 2008 Kosovo declaration of independence[7]
1983According to the UN, the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus is not independent from Cyprus. Its sovereignty is recognized by Turkey, the supranational Islamic Conference and Azerbaijan's Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic, a subunit of that republic.Foreign relations of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus[8]
(Taiwan)1949According to the UN, the area currently controlled by the Republic of China (commonly known as "Taiwan") is part of China and the People's Republic of China is the sole legitimate government of China. The sovereignty of the ROC as sole legitimate government of China is recognized by UN members, including the Holy See, an observer state of the UN. The ROC is a former member of the UN, representing China. Besides the area the ROC currently controls, the ROC claims areas controlled by Afghanistan, Bhutan, India, Japan, Mongolia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan and the PRC. Many nations have unofficial relations with the ROC.Political status of Taiwan, Foreign relations of the Republic of China[9]
(SADR)1976Western Sahara is on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories. Its sovereignty as the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic is recognized by 49 UN members and the African Union, but not by Morocco, which claims the entirety of its territory. De facto sovereignty is limited to the Free Zone, the remainder is under Moroccan military occupation. The SADR also controls a number of refugee camps in southwestern Algeria.Foreign relations of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic[10]
1991According to the UN, South Ossetia is not independent from Georgia. Its sovereignty is recognized by Russia, Nicaragua; two non-UN states, Abkhazia and Transnistria; and the Hamas government in Gaza.Foreign relations of South Ossetia, International recognition of Abkhazia and South Ossetia[11]

UN member state, not recognized by a limited number of states

NameDisputed sinceRecognitionFurther informationReferences
Cyprus1974Cyprus is not recognized by Turkey and Northern Cyprus. Turkey and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus refer to it as "Güney Kıbrıs Rum Kesimi", Greek Part of Southern Cyprus.Foreign relations of Cyprus[13] [14]
Czech Republic1993The Czech Republic is not recognized by Liechtenstein due to a dispute over the applicability of the Beneš decrees.Foreign relations of the Czech Republic[15]
Israel1948Israel has no diplomatic relations with 34 countries. It is not recognized by 26 countries and the partially recognized Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic.Foreign relations of Israel[16]
Liechtenstein1993Liechtenstein is recognized by neither the Czech Republic nor Slovakia due to Liechtenstein's refusal to recognize them.Foreign relations of Liechtenstein
1948The Democratic People's Republic of Korea is not recognized by Estonia, France, Japan, and the Republic of Korea.[17] Foreign relations of North Korea[18] [19]
1948The Republic of Korea is not recognized by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea.Foreign relations of South Korea[20] [21]
(PRC)1949The People's Republic of China is not recognized by the Republic of China. Because of the One-China policy, the PRC is not recognized by the UN member states that recognize the ROC.PRC's diplomatic relations, Foreign relations of the PRC[22]
Slovakia1993Slovakia is not recognized by Liechtenstein due to a dispute over the applicability of the Beneš decrees.Foreign relations of Slovakia

See also


External links

Notes and References

  1. Non-member State
  2. Web site: 2008-06-16. Abkhazia: Ten Years On. BBC 2. 2001.
  3. South Ossetia opens embassy in Abkhazia The Tiraspol Times
  4. Russian troops leave Georgian posts
  5. Web site: 2008-02-26. Abkhazia: Ten Years On. Conciliation Resources. 2001. Clogg, Rachel.
  6. Russia recognises Georgian rebels
  7. Web site: 2008-02-28. Kosovo MPs proclaim independence. 2008-02-17. BBC News.
  8. Web site: 2008-02-28. In Praise of 'Virtual States'. Hadar, Leon. 2005-11-16. AntiWar.
  9. Web site: 2008-02-28. Taiwan Independence. 2002-08-04. Lewis, Joe. Digital Freedom Network.
  10. Web site: 2008-02-28. Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic. 1976-02-27. Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic. Western Sahara Online.
  11. Web site: 2008-02-28. OCHA Situation Report. 2003-09-23. Stojanovic, Srdjan. Center for International Disaster Information.
  12. Web site: 2008-02-28. 3.10 - How many countries recognize Palestine as a state?. 2007. Institute for Middle East Understanding.
  13. Web site: 2008-02-28. [ Cyprus]. 2008-02-28. CIA World Factbook. Central Intelligence Agency.
  14. Web site: 2008-03-07. Cyprus exists without Turkey's recognition: president. XINHUA. 2005-10-01.
  15. Web site: 2008-03-13. Statement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic - Liechtenstein. MFA of Czech Republic.
  16. Web site: 2008-02-28. Declaration of Israel's Independence 1948. 1948-05-14. Government of Israel. Yale University.
  17. Web site: Treaty on Basic Relations between Japan and the Republic of Korea. 2008-10-27.
  18. Web site: 2008-02-29. Declaration of Independence. TIME. 1966-08-19.
  19. Web site: 2008-02-29. Seoul's double-talk on reunification. Asia Times. 2005-01-04. Scofield, David.
  20. Web site: 2008-02-28. World War II and Korea. 2000-10-07. US Library of Congress. Country Studies.
  21. Web site: 2008-02-29. China, Backing North Korea, Quits Armistice Commission. The New York Times. 1994-09-03. Sterngold, James.
  22. Web site: 2008-02-28. Constitution of the People's Republic of China. International Human Rights Treaties and Documents Database.